cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Claudia.Landivar
Community Manager

Welcome to our Community Spotlight series! In this edition, Gaurav Gupta, an Engineering Manager in the financial services sector, shares his career trajectory, knowledge sharing inspirations, and more. 

— Claudia Landivar, Community Manager & Editor

Table of Contents

Gaurav Gupta, Engineering Manager in the financial services sectorGaurav Gupta, Engineering Manager in the financial services sector

A day in the life of Gaurav.Gupta

Can you give us a picture of “a day in the life”? What do you do at your job?

I am an Engineering Manager, responsible for Monitoring (creating Alerts), Operations (handling Alerts), and managing the India unit. My day is divided into three major blocks:

• taking care of the India monitoring team 
  • taking care of day-to-day admin activities for the India unit and stakeholders 
  • interacting with my Global operation team. 

Typically, my role is to develop a technical roadmap, provide technical coaching/guidance for my product, and empower other product teams.

How did you get involved with this work?

I started my career as an Oracle DBA and Unix system admin. During that time, I developed several shell scripts to monitor the health of my databases and servers. Later on, I moved to project, program, portfolio, and delivery management. In early 2017, I moved to a role to define and implement operation and monitoring practices/solutions into my entire domain, which has a presence in around 11 countries.

What has fed your interest in your work?

Instant gratification! – You can see results immediately and have the ability to quickly solve people's problems to create a WOW factor. The entire APM suite brings a lot of business value and is useful for various roles like Product Owner, Engineering Manager, Developers, Tester, etc.

Why participate in Community?

What first brought you to the AppD community?