cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ryan.Paredez
Community Manager

Welcome to the Community Member Spotlight series. In this edition, Sunil Vanmullem, a Solutions Architect, shares his perspective, tips, use cases, and more… 

— Ryan Paredez & Claudia Landivar, Community Managers 

In this post 

• Your work: what do you do and how did you get there? 
  • Working with AppD products 
  • Keeping up with industry news 
  • Life after-hours 
  • Advice for up-and-coming professionals 

Your work: what do you do, and how did you get there? 

I’m a solutions architect who gets to help decide what technology is used to solve a particular business problem. It’s a team effort that involves recommending technologies, understanding what the stakeholders need, procurement activities, producing architecture and designs for the solution, and being a technical authority for the implementation phase of the project. 

I started as a Visual Basic software developer. I progressed into the solutions architect role relatively early in my career after finding out there were people above my role that made the technical decisions. I wanted a piece of that action and put together a Personal Development Plan to join a certification course for TOGAF, to become a technical architect. 

What has fed your interest in your work? 

For me, it's about curiosity. I’m very curious about technology, not only about what it can do but also about how it works at a detailed level. It is satisfying to see the solutions I have been involved with making a difference in the lives of ordinary people. 

Working with AppD products  

MemberSpotlight_Vanmullem@2x.png

What first brought you to the AppD community? 

I first came across AppDynamics in 2012 when I was brought into a project to find out why it was having performance problems. I was blown away by how quickly AppD found the root cause.