Knowledge Base

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How does the 'Node Name Reuse' property affect Network Visibility?

Starting in version 4.5.1, the Network Agent supports Node Name Reuse for nodes running in dynamic environments where server instances are continually shut down and restarted. If Node Name Reuse is enabled on a Java Agent, it is automatically enabled on the corresponding Network Agent as well. When the server shuts down and is marked as historical, the node name becomes available for reuse in both the Application Dashboard and the Network Dashboard.

 

Note that Node Name Reuse results in the following differences between the Application flowmap and the Network Visibility flowmap:

  • In the Application flowmap, when a node name is reused, the historical metrics associated with the shutdown node are retained.
  • In the Network Visibility flowmap, when a node name is reused, the network connections represent only the connections that are made after the node has restarted.
Version history
Revision #:
8 of 8
Last update:
2 weeks ago
Updated by:
 
Labels (1)
0 Kudos