Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Agent Tier name does not match AppDynamics Dashboard

Freddy.Chung
Wanderer
Hi,
I am new to AppDynamics.
I am trying to use AppDynamics to monitor some key features of my application.
I am using the C++ sdk and I have some behaviors that I don't understand.

appd-events.png
How is it possible that the agent tier differs from the Tier displayed by AppDynamics (which is here ISS-MCSMS-APP) ?

As my application is able to gather all the information of a transaction in one place, I create the corresponding transaction for AppDynamics agent in a single thread (it means that I overwrite the start time and the processing time for the bt and all exit calls).
As my application has a lot of different services, I want to display the response time per service (Tier).
Therefore, I declare them as backend and for each transaction, I add the exit calls. However, I don't want them to be displayed as outside webservice, so I add a appd_context for each Tier, and I create a correlated bt for each exit call.

The code looks like:

// pcp_trans is a pointer of transaction that gather all information
    appd_bt_handle lc_btHandle = appd_bt_begin( "MY_BT", NULL);
    appd_bt_override_start_time_ms(lc_btHandle, pcp_trans->startTime);
    appd_bt_override_time_ms(lc_btHandle, pcp_trans->procTime);
    for (auto& lcr_extCall: pcp_trans->exitCall) // vector of exit calls
    {
      appd_exitcall_handle lc_ecHandle = appd_exitcall_begin(lc_btHandle, lcr_extCall.name); // name is the Tier name
      appd_exitcall_override_start_time_ms(lc_ecHandle, lcr_extCall.startTime);
      appd_exitcall_override_time_ms(lc_ecHandle, lcr_extCall.procTime);

/*
       * Here I add the appd context for the service if the context does not exist
       */
      const char* lz_corhdr = appd_exitcall_get_correlation_header(lc_ecHandle);